Ivan Series: 4. Ivan and the Hidden Bible


Myrna Grant

Ivan may not be the most popular boy in the school but he is the best football player they have. However, some of the other boys think that Ivan should not be allowed to play on the school team because he is a Christian. The teasing and the bullying continue and Ivan struggles on.

Things begin to look up when Ivan and his sister Katya get the chance to travel to the Lenin Collective Farm to help with the harvest. It will be great to have a break from school with plenty of fresh air and exercise. But there's another reason Ivan and Katya can't wait to get there--there just might be a hidden Bible somewhere on the farm, which is the farm that once belonged to Ivan and Katya's Grandfather!

Highly recommended, these stories about Ivan and his family are ideal for children aged 9 to 12 years.

[Softcover, 144 pages]

Originally published about 30 years ago, the author of this series of books is recognized for her deep knowledge of the suffering church under communistic rule. The plight of Christians behind what was then called the Iron Curtain was a great concern to Myrna Grant, and she wrote many novels describing the daily lives of these suffering saints. The Ivan series was designed to give children a glimpse of what it meant to be a believer under such terrifying conditions where secrecy, fear of discovery, interrogations, and the injustice of a communist/atheistic society were a part of everyday living.

These six books introduce a different culture and historical period, yet Ivan and his sister Katya face some of the same struggles all children face. Do they want to please God more than man? Do they believe God can keep them safe? Do they believe in His sovereignty? The Gospel is explained in simple language, and scripture is woven throughout the books in a natural, not contrived, manner.

Circumstances in Russia have changed in 30 years, yet communistic oppression, regardless of the country, remains the same. If your children enjoy action-packed historical fiction, and you want them to read books that reinforce your Christian values, you will both be happy with the Ivan series.

Add to Cart:

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2019 Heart and Home. Operated by Heart and Home